PDA

View Full Version : Starting out small

stenk
15-04-2015, 10:25 AM
Hi guys,

I would like to invest in Shares. Should I go through a managed fund or do this myself?

I'm not new to trading I have some experience in FOREX but not shares. I ultimately would like to do this myself but thought drip feeding a managed dividend fund just to get me started. At this stage I can only do $100 a week payments which at this I am quite comfortable with.

I was thinking smartshares.co.nz/ smartdividend fund.

Please guys let me know what you think. Am I going about this the right way?

Many thanks,

Sten

dingoNZ
15-04-2015, 10:41 AM
Hi guys,

I would like to invest in Shares. Should I go through a managed fund or do this myself?

I'm not new to trading I have some experience in FOREX but not shares. I ultimately would like to do this myself but thought drip feeding a managed dividend fund just to get me started. At this stage I can only do $100 a week payments which at this I am quite comfortable with.

I was thinking smartshares.co.nz/ smartdividend fund.

Please guys let me know what you think. Am I going about this the right way?

Many thanks,

Sten

Brokerage fee's will kill your investment, say you were to invest $1000, the minimum fee is $30, you would simply need a 6% rise to be able to justify the buy and sale of the holding.

What I would do to get exposure to equities until you have enough to justifiably buy shares without having the brokerage erode saving is use Rabo direct. Rabo have a lot of asset managers/managed fund on there and you don't pay a stupidly high minimum fee for entry (often have deals for free entry). This way you also get a diversified investment across the asset class you pick (NZX, ASX, US etc).

Alternatively you could invest in the likes of Milford, Mint etc etc however they usually have a 'minimum investment' what Rabo does not.

Worth a read imo, https://www.rabodirect.co.nz/cash-funds/default.aspx

Just a thought~

Harvey Specter